Two CDM staff sentenced to four years in prison

May 14, 2024

HURFOM: On May 7th, 2024, two schoolteachers from the Ministry of Education from Kan Bauk area, Yebyu Township, Tenasserim Division who joined the “civil disobedience movement – CDM” were sentenced to four years in prison by the junta’s court.

On February 19th, the junta arrested four educational staff at their home including schoolteacher Daw Yin Yin Aye, from Maggin Ward and schoolteacher Daw Thet Thet, Maw from Mi Kyaung Eye Ward, Kan Bauk Town.

Daw Yin Yin Aye and Daw Thet Thet Maw were detained at the Mawrawaddy Navy Command for more than a month and then charged under the Anti-terrorist Act 52(A).

The Yebyu Court made the final decision on May 7th. The other two teachers were sent to Dawei Prison in March. They’re still in legal proceedings,” said a local source.

The two teachers were transferred from the Yebyu Custody to the Dawei Prison on May 8th, 2024 soon after the court’s decision.

From February to April, 2024, more than 20 Kan Bauk residents were arrested by the junta and 11 of them are still in detention.


Comments are closed.